In case anyone is wondering what they are eating at the White House tonight. Not on the menu: canned asparagus. But then, Harry Reid was not on the guest list, so there.

I like to think I am fairly cosmopolitan about food, but I feel my hamburger helper roots coming on strong when reading this menu. I don’t even know what some of these things are … but then I do know sweet potater casserole and I am dying to know what Sarkozy thought of it.

Menu for the social dinner in honor of his excellency Nicolas Sarkozy…

*Maine Lobster Bisque; Vermouth Cream; HDV Chardonnay “Carneros” 2004
*Elysian Farm Lamb with Heirloom Tomato Fondu; Ragoût of Green Beans, Chanterelles and Caramelized Shallots

*Sweet Potato Casserole; Dominus “Napa Valley” 2004

*Salad of White and Green Asparagus;Peppercress and Mâche;White Balsamic Vinaigrette *La Fayette’s Legacy;Chandon “Rosé” n/v

